Shopify

The 10 Best Shopify Apps to Increase Your Average Order Value (AOV)

Increasing your overall sales is, and should be, a key focus to creating a successful Shopify store. But what if those sales were worth more?...

The 10 Best Shopify Apps to Increase Your Average Order Value (AOV)

Increasing your overall sales is, and should be, a key focus to creating a successful Shopify store.

But what if those sales were worth more?

Driving more sales and larger baskets is a surefire way to accelerate your business growth, and fortunately, there are a number of Shopify apps that can help you do that.

What is average order value (AOV)?

What is average order value (AOV)?

Average order value is pretty much what it says on the tin: the average amount of money each customer spends per order.

To work out your average order value, all you need to do is divide your total monthly revenue by the number of monthly orders.

So, if you had 10 orders totalling $530 in value, your average order value would be $53.

Getting more customers onto your store is important, but increasing your average order value is equally key to improving your overall profit.

The average order value globally for ecommerce brands is $138.

What is average order value globally per industry?

What is average order value globally per industry?

In January 2024, this was the average order value for the following industries:

  • Fashion, accessories & apparel: $122
  • Home & furniture: $339
  • Beauty & personal care: $70
  • Consumer goods: $194
  • Pet care & veterinary services: $71
  • Food & beverage: $103
  • Luxury & jewellery: $391

What is the average order value on Shopify?

In 2022, Littledata surveyed 2,216 Shopify stores and found the average average order value across all Shopify stores was $85.

Anything more than $192 would put you in the best 20% of Shopify stores and more than $311 would put you in the best 10%.

Conversely, an AOV of less than $50 would put you in the lowest 20% of Shopify stores, and less than $39 would put you in the lowest 10%.

How do you boost average order value on Shopify?

Obviously, what you’re selling makes a difference.

A store selling furniture will naturally have a higher average order value than a store selling chocolate bars. We’re not saying you should change your entire business model, but introducing higher-priced products or increasing your prices will obviously make a difference - though the latter could impact your number of sales.

Bundles are a great way to increase your AOV without introducing a new product. Naturally, you want your customers to order more from you, and bundles make it an easier decision for your customers. Theming these bundles around key events or customer personas helps market them.

For example, you might have a specific Valentine’s or Mother’s Day bundle. If you’re a food brand, you might have a sweet bundle, spicy bundle, or movie-night bundle.

You’ll also want to be on the lookout for upsell and cross-sell opportunities. Most of the time, customers can be persuaded to add items to their order with the right messaging.

Upselling means persuading a customer to purchase a more expensive product than the one they intended e.g. a $40 t-shirt instead of a $30 t-shirt.

Cross-selling is where you persuade a customer to add onto their order, usually with complimentary products e.g. adding in a moisturiser when the customer’s already buying a cleanser.

Both tactics are useful when trying to increase AOV, you just need to do it correctly as being overly pushy could have the opposite effect and send customers away.

The 8 Best Apps to Increase Your Average Order Value on Shopify

The 10 Best Apps to Increase Your Average Order Value on Shopify

1. ReConvert Post Purchase Upsell

Price: Free - $14.99/month

Free trial: 30-Day

Shopify app store rating: 4.9/5

The Best Apps to Increase Your Average Order Value on Shopify

If the name didn’t give it away, ReConvert improves the post-purchase journey, adding upsell opportunities to encourage your customers to add more items to their basket with a single click.

Create a customisable thank you page, upsell offers, and special discounts based upon key customer features, like their birthday.

Case study: How Tushy used thank you page cross-sells to generate an extra $191,786/mo.

Customer review:

“Great app with lots of options!

I like that they offer support for multi-language stores since it's an important part of my business. Lee-ann was there to assist me really quickly and explain to me how to set the trigger for the additional languages, as well as Anastasia who helped me later on.

Amazing customer service at all times, thank you very much! :)”

2. StoreLab

Price: Mobile app plans from $499/month

Free trial: Free trial available

Shopify app store rating: 5/5

StoreLab Shopify Mobile App Builder

If you want to grow your Shopify store, StoreLab can help. Both of our mobile app plans include a fully designed, personalised, and customizable iOS & Android mobile app for your Shopify store, helping you boost sales, increase AOV, and drive customer loyalty.

The majority of traffic to Shopify stores comes from a mobile device, but your mobile website isn’t good enough. Mobile apps convert 3x better, deliver a 10% higher average order value, and customers view 4.2x more products all thanks to a better customer experience.

And if that’s not enough to convince you, 85% of consumers prefer a mobile app over a mobile website, so your customers are guaranteed to love it.

Why StoreLab?

The benefit of a Shopify mobile app builder like StoreLab's is that you can supercharge your mobile sales whilst also easily converting, retaining, and communicating with your customers.

Case study: 1307% Increase in Sales with a Shopify Mobile App | RockThoseCurves

Customer review:

“StoreLab has given our online coffee roasting a new sales outlet with our own app.

Hamza Sattar has been beyond helpful and just the kind of person we need because we're coffee roasters - not technical people. He patiently guided us through the set-up process and did so much work for us.

Without promoting our app, it's already generating revenue.

We are so appreciative of all the work Storelab have done for us.”

3. Selleasy - Upsell and Cross-sell

Price: Free, $8.99/month, $16.99/month

Free trial: 30-Day | Free up to 50 orders/month

Shopify app store rating: 5/5

Selleasy Shopify App Store

The Upsell & Cross sell - Selleasy is a user-friendly app to create high-converting upsell and cross-sell offers. You can display product offers on your ‘product’, ‘cart’, ‘post-purchase’, and ‘thank you’ pages to boost your sales and increase average order value by making customers buy more than what they came for.

You can also set up various offers through the app’s widgets, including frequently bought together, product add-ons, pop-ups, and funnels.

With 1600+ 5-star reviews, Selleasy has been featured on Shopify stories reflecting the customers choice and real-time results.

Customer review:

I have been using this app for a while to add no-pressure upsells and I really love it!

They have great support and are happy to help customize the CSS to fit my store's branding for FREE! Suki helped me today and it only took 20 minutes to fully customize my "Frequently bought together" section.

They're always so helpful!

4. Bundler - Product Bundles

Price: Free - $12.99/month

Free trial: 7-Day

Shopify app store rating: 4.9/5

The 8 Best Apps to Increase Your Average Order Value on Shopify

Bundler lets you create bundles with ease, creating higher-value products to drive up your average order value.

Easily make classic bundles, mix & match bundles, volume discounts, frequently bought together, discount popups, mixed bundles, tiered discounts, build your own bundle, automatic bundle discounts, and more.

Case study: The Parabola West Shop

Customer review:

“I've been looking for an app that does exactly this, mix and match any way you need! I love the ease of use!

I tried a few before and none of them worked the way I needed it until I found Bundler!”

5. PickyStory - Bundles & Upsell

Price: Free - $49.50/month

Free trial: 30-Day

Shopify app store rating: 4.8/5

best shopify apps for average order value

PickyStory combines ReConvert and Bundler together into one bundle and upsell app allowing you to “capture every drop of revenue.”

Easily bundle products together, upsell, cross-sell, create BOGO offers, introduce product recommendations, one-click upsell options, and more.

And you can benefit from 24/6 support, so you’ll never have to wait long when needing help.

Case study: PickyStory Helps NxTSTOP Fly To 150% Higher AOV

Customer review:

“This is such a better service than the one I was using before.

It is so easy to create new bundles in a really customer-friendly way, and it integrates really well with my warehouse software.

Most importantly, the customer service is *so* good. They respond in less than a minute and are always so helpful.”

6. Sales Pop-Up Conversion Pro

Price: Free - $4.99/month

Free trial: 14-Day

Shopify app store rating: 4.8/5

Sales Pop up Conversion Pro is drives sales and average order value through the power of social proof.

You can add countdown timers, live sale notifications, stock counters, visitor counters, and trust badges to create both urgency and awareness of other shoppers.

Plus, all the notifications are completely customisable, so you can make sure they directly match to your brand.

Customer review:

“Great app!

Painlessly and seamlessly works to promote stuff in your shop with effective widgets (and at POS and in-cart) to push sales forward while you concentrate on other stuff.

It's like having a helpful wizard working constantly behind the scenes all across your website.”

7. Unlimited Bundles & Discounts

Price: Free - $29.99/month

Free trial: Free plan available

Shopify app store rating: 4.8/5

increase shopify average order value

As you can tell, bundles and discounts are a key driver to increase your average order value - and the Unlimited Bundles & Discounts Shopify app is one of the best.

Easily bundle products together with discounts to boost your sales, with beginner to advanced options available depending on your technical level.

They even state that you can setup your first Bundle within a minute.

Customer review:

“Excellent app to use. SO easy. I tried all day yesterday using a different app and I couldn't get it right. This one took 5 minutes. Thank you!”

8. Smile: Loyalty & Rewards

Price: Free - $999/month

Free trial: Free plan available

Shopify app store rating: 4.8/5

Increase order value on shopify

Beyond bundles, discounts, and Shopify mobile apps, loyalty and rewards are another great way to increase your average order value.

Not only can they help turn one-off buyers into lifetime customers, but loyal customers are more likely to make larger, more frequent purchases.

It’s also one of the easiest apps to integrate into your current website, working well with almost any other integration.

Customer review:

“These guys are amazing with their after-sales services. Joana responded to me within 2-3 minutes, even though I was told that I wouldn't get a reply until Monday, which is 2 days from now.

I've been using this app, and my clients love collecting those points. I definitely recommend this app to build your e-commerce the right way and have your clients race to collect and redeem their points.”

9. SearchPie: SEO Booster & Speed

Price: Free - $99/month

Free trial: 7-day

Shopify app store rating: 4.9/5

increase shopify average order value

Rounding off our article is a SearchPie.

Whilst the SEO side can help drive more customers to your store, the speed improvements will give them a better shopping experience.

For every second your site loads faster, your conversion rate improves by 17%. Yes, you read that right. Reducing your load speed from 3 seconds to 1 second would make your conversion rate jump by 34%.

And if customers are finding it easier to navigate your site, the more likely they are to view other products and add them to their basket.

Customer review:

“SearchPie has transformed my website's performance! With its intuitive SEO Booster, I've seen a significant boost in search rankings and organic traffic.

The Speed features have improved loading times noticeably. The analytics are clear, and customer support is top-notch. And all thanks to Wendy who helped me step by step to boost my website she kind and professional in the aspect of teaching and I highly recommend her to anyone.

If you're serious about improving your site's SEO and speed, I highly recommend giving SearchPie a try.”

10. All-In-1 Discount (AIOD)

Price: Free for development stores, $9.99/month, $14.99/month, $24.99/month, $49.99/month

Free trial: 15-Day

Shopify app store rating: 4.9/5

All-In-1-Discount-Shopify-App

AIOD is an app for Shopify that offers 8 different sales features in one. With it, you can create bundles, volume discounts, and buy one, get one free offer. You can also stack multiple discounts together. This helps attract customers and can boost your sales and average order value

With AIOD, planning and automating discount strategies is easy. Schedule discounts for flash sales, holiday promotions, or specific campaigns. Implement tiered discounts and attractive Buy X Get Y offers effortlessly. Unlock your store's full sales potential today with AIOD!

Customer review:

“The team at AIOD has made switching from another Volume Discount app to AIOD a seamless transition. The main reason why we switched is because this is one of the only apps that allows volume discounts to be done by Shopify POS.

The support is what makes Apps like this worth using, as they have been able to address issues that have come up.

The App itself comes with a lot of different deals and discount options. The support team has been great in replicating how we were displaying discounts on the product and cart pages.

Easily can recommend All-In-1 Discount App."

Want to find more Shopify apps to improve your results? Check out our comprehensive guide to the Shopify app store.

Case Study Brand MDS
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